Wright County Record logo and header

Deadline passes for candidate filing


The deadline to declare candidacy for City and School Board election races and other races passed on Dec. 28, 2021, for the upcoming April 5 election.

Mountain Grove

The City of Mountain Grove has two year terms for Ward I, Ward II, Ward III and Ward IV.

In Ward I, incumbent Carolyn Mitchell was the lone candidate to file. In Ward II, incumbent Mark Boyd filed as well as Eugene Siles and Nicholas Holloway. As for Ward III, incumbent Brenda Clark and Teresa Lindsay filed. The Ward IV race will feature Sarah Forrest, Connie Mitchell and Jim DeWitt. Incumbent Jeff Holman did not file.

As for the Mountain Grove R-III School Board, incumbents Howard Hawkins and Jay Loveland filed for the three year term positions. There will be a one year term race as incumbent Ryan Morris and Cheyenne Smith have both filed. Voters will also have two questions on the ballot. The first one asks voters if the City of Mountain Grove should “allow and regulate farm animals on land consisting of five or more acres within the city limits.” The other question asks if the City shall “impose a local use tax at the same rate as the total local sales tax rate, currently 3%, provided that if the local sales tax rate is reduced or raised by voter approval, the local use tax rate shall also be reduced or raised by the same action?


The Norwood R-I School District has two, three-year term seats up for election currently held by Debbie Shelton and R.A. Bradshaw. Both incumbents filed as well as Steven Jarrett and Curtis Smith.

As for the City of Norwood race, it has two alderman positions with two-year terms.

Those seats are currently filled by Travis Coatney and Mike Fitzpatrick and they were the lone candidates to file.


In the Mansfield R-IV School Board race, there are two Board members with three-year terms expiring. Those seats are currently held by Kris Gray and Zach Miller. Those who filed, in order, include the incumbent Zach Miller, Jason Eagleston, Robert Lozano and Doug Tripp.

In the City of Mansfield, there are two, two-year terms as Ward I and Ward II seats are up for election.  Neither incumbent Mike Roberts or any other candidate filed in Ward I. This means the ballot will reflect for a write-in candidate. Ward II’s lone candidate was incumbent Derrick Neal.


The Hartville R-III School Board has two, three-year term positions up for election. Those are currently held by Allen Dickinson and Dustin Arnall. At the deadline, Arnall and Jeffrey Palmer filed, so there will be no election. In the one-year term position race, Natalia Moncada-Harris was the lone person to file, so there will be no election.

As for the City of Hartville, alderman positions up for election are seats with two-year terms currently held by Jessica Vandergrift, Karen Brown and Loni Pedersen. At the deadline, Vandergrift, Brown and Troy Kirk filed.


The Wright County Health Department has three Board positions with three-year terms also up for election. Incumbents Debbie Barbe, Rita Davis and Lisa Jennings all re-filed.

Both incumbents Larry Perkins and Rachel Emery were the only ones filing in the Manes R-V School Board race.

For the Wright County Emergency Services Board, Eastern filers are Mark Bushong (four year) and Sonny Byerley (year two of four). Western is Tim Short (four year) and Aaron Huffman (year two of four).


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here